Snow Leopard Bug Deletes User Data
Jumping between Guest account and Normal one wipes out data
Apple had released the first batch of updates for its new Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard last month. Apple Discussion boards had several users who complained about a recent bug related to Guest User account led to data deletion from the user’s Mac. The settings are being reset and data is reported to be wiped out.
The bug appears when Snow Leopard user logs into Guest account, accidentally or on purpose, then logs off and logs into normal account. Having done that, this normal account may be found as fully wiped and reset as fresh one. Also, the home directory would exist under “/Users/username” but would show no data. It’s being speculated that users with guest account enabled in Leopard and upgraded to Snow Leopard faced this problem.
Read more: techtree.com